PDA

View Full Version : Loud sound and locking when braking

notamechanic
04-21-2012, 01:34 AM
As my name says I am not a mechanic, I am a professional gardener. I use my 2003(?) 4X2 gator every day, all day, at work. We have two mechanics on the job that maintain a fleet of 15 or so gators and several riding mowers and lots of small power equip. So they should be able to figure this out but have been trying with no luck so far. Issue:

For quite a while when braking there is a squeaking that transitions to a very loud howl or moan when coming to a stop. The brakes themselves were quite bad and I had to stomp on them long and hard to have a chance of stopping. So the mechanics took apart the transmission and replaced the brakes. Then the gator stopped great, but the sound was no different. Sometimes after coming to a stop, it SEEMS like the brakes remain stuck on. When I start to go there is the sound and it just feels like the parking brake is on. Going forwards and backwards a few time usually frees it up for a while. When this happens, even with the parking brake free and the gator in neutral, it can be locked in.

The mechanics lifted the rear end and played with the wheels etc. and "determined" that some gears in the transmission were locking. So they took it apart again and changed those. Afterwards, still exactly the same problem. At one point they told me that they had even put in a totally different transmission from another gator and the problem persisted. Now I am not a mechanic, but that last one made me think, but they did not agree, that the problem must not be in the transmission. They thought it was just coincidence having the same problem with two different transmissions. Me, I am not that big a believer in coicidence.