PDA

View Full Version : Broke something - CV I think, any suggestions...

Laxin213
10-07-2014, 09:25 AM
Hello Guys,

Looking for some advice here. I was in 4x4 mode and stuck it, while I had a load of firewood I was bringing to my woodpile.

I think the extra weight certainly broke something. It wasn't framed out but it was stuck fairly well. I can drive it and turn it still, although turning is limited.

When examining the "boot" which I think is called the CV, I did see a sS ball bearing fall out.

So what did I break - is it related to engaging the the front tires in 4x4 mode? And if anyone knows the name, if I can fix this on my own without a lot of special tools, that would be very appreciated. I'm a fairly decent driveway mechanic.

Also, can a MOD please change the category, I have an 825i XUV 2011, I posted this in the incorrect sub forum... thanks!!

Thanks!!

3159 3160

Bunky
10-07-2014, 12:18 PM
It does look like you broke the CV joint. You must have put it in a bind and it came apart.

homert3
10-07-2014, 12:55 PM
You're going to need a new half shaft on that one.

Laxin213
10-07-2014, 07:35 PM
It looks the same on both sides. I'm guessing I need a new CV joint and shaft for both sides then, is it 1 part or 2? How hard to install?

So I likely need a left and right of this part? (http://www.ebay.com/itm/301238659519?_trksid=p2060778.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

thanks...

Bunky
10-08-2014, 06:08 PM
You need two half shafts.

Dane
10-12-2014, 05:53 PM
Installation is surprisingly easy if you have a comfy shop to work. Jack the Gator up and support it securely. Remove the wheel. Then unbolt the suspension components. Then I think it's a sharp tug on the shaft to pop the whole assembly out of the differential if your CV is still intact enough to hold things together. It's a 30 minute job to get the shaft out if you've got tools ready and done it before or figure a couple hours to proceed cautiously your first time.

---